Event

How to reach vulnerable communities with limited access to digital communication means (by example of Latin America)

Ericka Toledo Zurita • 11 November 2020
Start of the event: 13:00 Bogotá, 15:00 Brasilía, 19:00 Berlin, 20:00 Amman, 21:00 Nairobi, 22:00 Tbilisi 
Languages of the event: English, Arabic, Spanish, Portuguese

 

How to reach vulnerable communities with limited access to digital communication means (by example of Latin America)

In the frame of the Connective Cities virtual week, virtual events on Digitalization and Crisis Communication will take place on Thursday, November 26th. We cordially invite you to participate in our session on How to reach vulnerable communities with limited access to digital communication means.

The pandemic has opened us to new ways and means of communication, where crisis management, technology and mass outlets now stand center stage. But certain groups and contexts struggle more than others to access key information and to participate in key public dialogues. Also, public authorities and organizations struggle in communicating, spreading and making sense of information, receiving feedback to their policies and strategies and voicing citizens needs and worries. As we deal with an unprecedent situation we look at back at the lessons Covid-19 has taught us about communicating with vulnerable communities, by the hand of on the ground actors that will share key experiences and learnings as they transition to a new normal. Together we aim to answer: How can we include marginalized and vulnerable communities and engage them in the midst of limited access? 

We are looking forward to an inspiring exchange and we would be delighted to have you join us!

 

Note: For a quality use of the conference tool please download the Google Chrome Browser.


Speakers

Ana Marcela Valdes Carbonell, Elected City Councillor, City of Arteaga, Coahuila, Mexico 

Brigitta Villaronga, Founder & Confluencer, Campo Virtual Latino, Germany / Latin America 

Juan Marcelo Álvarez, Communication Leader of PROBOSQUE GIZ, Bolivia

Pedro Daniel García Muciño, Coordinator of the COVID-19 Control Room, City of Toluca, Mexico

 

Moderation

Arnulfo Valdivia-Machuca (Former Mexican Ambassador to Colombia), Moderator, Mexico-Colombia 

Ericka Toledo Zurita (CEO The Sustainability Atelier), Co-Moderator, Mexico 

Files
Languages
Arabic English Portuguese Spanish