Event

Dealing with the digital divide in the time of COVID 19-driven digitalisation

Jorge Rodriguez • 11 November 2020
Start of the event: 14:00 Berlin, 8:00 Bogotá, 10:00 Brasília, 15:00 Amman, 16:00 Nairobi, 17:00 Tbilisi, 21:00 Peking 
Languages of the event: English, Spanish, Arabic, Portuguese

 

Dealing with the digital divide in the time of COVID 19-driven digitalisation

In the frame of the Connective Cities virtual week, virtual events on Digitalisation will take place on Thursday, November 26th. We cordially invite you to participate in our session on Dealing with the digital divide in the time of COVID 19-driven digitalisation.

While the pandemic undoubtably causes rapid digitalisation in many spheres, it also bears the risk of worsening the digital divide. How can urban communities counteract this trend by ensuring digital access for their communities?  The presentation of the open-source video conference system “PalimPalim” will provide the opportunity to learn more about solutions on how to create free digital infrastructure for every citizen while considering the special needs from different social groups. Moreover, the pilot project “Hardware for Future” from Leipzig is an interesting project that aims to coordinate the supply and demand of hardware within an urban community. It will demonstrate how municipalities can fight the digital divide by offering hardware to children and by teaching them digital skills in interactive workshops. In addition, the COVID-adapted job platform “JOCHEN” and the volunteer platform “Covid Warriors” from Barcelona will provide insights into how to use digital tools in a smart and inclusive way during the pandemic. Finally, Andrea Escobar from Columbia will tell us more on how schools can adapt to digitalisation and counteract the digital divide.

During the event, you will be given the great opportunity to discuss the specific cases from Spain, Columbia and Germany, share your experience on the topic and lay out the framework for future cooperation.

We are looking forward to an inspiring exchange and we would be delighted to have you join us!

 

Note: For a quality use of the conference tool please download the Google Chrome Browser.


Speakers

Eduard Itrich, DIGIT Head of Department & Digitisation Officer, City of Bühl, Germany

Oriol Ribera & Francesc Saldaña, Initiators Team from Covid Warriors Barcelona, Spain

Anna-Lena Kleimann, Project Manager “JOCHEN”, City of Dortmund (Economic Development Agency), Germany

Mary Uhlig, Project Manager at the Department of Economics, Labor and Digitalisation - Digital City Unit, City of Leipzig, Germany

Andrea Escobar, Director of “Fundacion Empresarios por la Educacion”, Bogotá, Columbia

 

Moderation

Jorge Rodriguez

Files
Languages
Arabic English Portuguese Spanish