Event

Smart schooling – Corona as a chance to bridge the digital divide

Olav Goetz • 11 November 2020
Start of the event:
21:00 Peking, 14:00 Berlin, 15:00 Amman, 16:00 Nairobi, 17:00 Tbilisi, 10:00 Brasília
Language of the event: English, Arabic

Smart schooling – Corona as a chance to bridge the digital divide

In the frame of the Connective Cities virtual week, virtual events on Economic Response, Housing & Education will take place on Wednesday, November 25th. We cordially invite you to participate in our session on Smart schooling – Corona as a chance to bridge the digital divide.

This session offers cities and municipalities the opportunity to exchange their experiences and successful strategies about digital learning tools which have become even more crucial through the COVID-19 pandemic. Many schools and cities around the world had started to invest in digital learning tools long before the pandemic hit the globe. Now, these tools are not a nice-to-have anymore, they are crucial to enable children and youth to access education safely. Virtual classrooms, interactive learning tools, online access to reading materials –all these have become essential in keeping “school” going. Countries, cities, and schools must bridge their current gaps regarding this new way of teaching and learning–and make sure that everybody is guaranteed to be able to access these digital learning tools.

This session will focus on examples and best practices from Germany, Haiti and UK which will be presented by experts and urban practioners from the education sector.

We are looking forward to your participation!

Note: For a quality use of the conference tool please download the Google Chrome Browser.


Speakers

Paul Scott, Curriculum Innovation Service Manager, The Innovation Centre Bradford, City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council, UK

Nadia Odio, BRITE Initiative, Jacmel, Haiti 

Moderation: Dr. Olav Goetz & Dr. Kristian Kampfer

Agenda, Wednesday, 25 NOVEMBER 2020 – 14:00 – 16:00 (CET)

Time (CET)

Agenda

Speaker

14:00

Welcome and Introduction

Dr. Olav Götz, Moderator and Dr. Kristian Kampfer, Co-Moderator

14:10

Good Practice 1 #techawaychallenge”and Q&A

Paul Scott, Bradford, UK 

14:40

Good Practice 2 “Establishing a technology program in a country where 99% of schools are unable to do so” and Q&A

Nadia Odio, Jacmel, Haiti

15:10

Energizer

Dr. Olav Götz, Moderator and Dr. Kristian Kampfer, Co-Moderator

15:20

Good Practice 3 VIAMO - the Zimbabwean Experience" and Q&A

Maria S.R. Tokwani and Innocent Takaedza, Zimbabwe 

15:50

ClosingSummary of the past session and announcement of the next week

Dr. Olav Götz, Moderator and Dr. Kristian Kampfer, Co-Moderator

 

 

Files
Languages
Arabic English