Event

Opening Session: Welcome Address & Panel Discussion

Daniela Marzavan • 11 November 2020
Start of the event:
14:00 Berlin, 21:00 Peking, 15:00 Amman, 16:00 Nairobi, 17:00 Tbilisi, 10:00 Brasília, 8:00 Bogotá

Languages of the event: English, German, Spanish, Portuguese

 

Cities in Crisis - Challenges and Future of Cities in view of the Pandemic 

In the frame of the Connective Cities virtual week, our opening session Cities in Crisis – Challenges and Future of Cities in view of the Pandemic will take place on Monday, November 23th. We cordially invite you to join this session.

Cities worldwide are severely affected by the impact of COVID-19. Our opening session will provide an overview of the challenge’s cities are facing during the pandemic and how possible consequences of the crisis can be dealt with in the future. Further, it will be discussed whether and to what extent urban development will change in new directions in the view of the pandemic.

We are looking forward to your participation!

Note: For a quality use of the conference tool please download the Google Chrome Browser.


AGENDA Monday, 23rd NOVEMBER 2020 – 14:00 – 16:30 (CET)

Time (CET)

Agenda

Speaker

13:30

Opening of the room

Supported by TechSupport

14:00

Opening of the session

Ricarda Meissner, Connective Cities & Daniela Marzavan, Innovation Consultant

14:15

Presentation of the agenda for the day

Daniela Marzavan

14:30

Welcome Address

Felix Reifschneider, Deputy Head of UnityMinistry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)

Sabine Drees, Senior Advisor International Affairs, Association of German Cities (Deutscher Städtetag)

Ricarda Meissner, Project director Connective Cities, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ)

15:00

Introduction of the panel speakers

Daniela Marzavan

15:10

Panel Discussion:

Cities in Crisis – Challenges and Future of Cities in view of the Pandemic

Mauricio Aguirre Lozano, Secretary of Government of Naucalpan de Juárez, México

Francisco Carvalho, Mayor of Praia, Republic of Cabo Verde

Dominic Fritz, Mayor of Timiosara, Romania

Irakli Karkashadze, Vice-Mayor of Kutaisi, Georgia

Naina Andriantsitohaina, Mayor of Antananarivo, Madagascar

Paulo Mendes, Councilor at Ponta Delgada, Portugal

Andryi Moskalenko, Deputy Mayor of Lviv, Ukraine 

15:50

Summary and Q&A

Plenary

16:05

Presenting Agenda Virtual Weeks

Daniela Marzavan

How to navigate through the Virtual Weeks - Building a Community of Practice

16:25

Closing & Goodbye

Ricarda Meissner & Daniela Marzavan

16:30

End of Opening Session

 

Files
Languages
English German Portuguese Spanish